I Dropped All My Walls For You

True love in the morning sun

It was the first time, and it wouldn’t be the last. I still find myself waiting for the other shoe to drop but I refuse to dwell on that.

I grew up listening to Taylor Swift and everyone knows that she has loved and lost. My lesson learnt from her was how easy it is to get hurt when in love and, as such, I told myself to never say “I love you”unless I mean it a hundred percent and I am willing to give the other person the power to hurt me but trusting him not to.

Finally saying it was such a thrill. It’s the only way to describe it. I remember him saying it first. He was having a bad day and in the midst of my trying to cheer him up, he looks at me like I’m the best thing- oh, that look!!- and says it. Next thing I know, before I even register it, my mouth is already blabbing away. And it felt so natural and real.

There was no single thing in that moment or moments after, not even now, that made me wish I had not said it back. He is the kind of person you would not mind breaking your heart. This is real. And if it isn’t, I don’t ever want to wake up from this.

 

Leave a comment